“A home without books is a body without soul.”

“A home without books is a body without soul.”
– Cicero

How well I agree with Marcus Tullius Cicero, a Roman lawyer, writer, scholar, orator and stateman who lived between 106BC-43BC.

I am eternally grateful to my parents, Nihal Dissanayake and Vijayalakshmi Wansaratne for fully subscribing to Cicero’s idea. They gave me a home full of books. And I guess by extention, a body with a soul. The books I read, more than anything else, made me what I am. 

And I want to share some of that legacy with the world. This is why I started the First Chapters Project back in 2005 on www.smallbusiness.lk. However, starting this week, I started an entirely new blog dedicated to first chapters of Sri Lankan books called SriLankaBookChapters.

This is an invitation for all of you to visit this blog.

I wish you all Happy Reading! Leave a comment there for the book chapters you enjoy and inspire the writers from Sri Lanka

If you need more quotations on reading, visit this page on ThinkExist, from where I got the Cicero quotation.

Leave a Reply

