FIRST LINES: Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Asperger’s

First lines from:

Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Asperger’s By John Elder Robison

“Look me in the eye, young man!”

I cannot tell you how many times I heard that shrill, whining refrain. It started about the time I got to first grade. I heard it from parents, relatives, teachers, principals, and all manner of other people. I heard it so often I began to expect to hear it.

Sometimes it would be punctuated by a jab from a ruler or one of those rubber-tipped pointers teachers used in those days. The teachers would say, “Look at me when I’m speaking to you!” I would squirm and continue looking at the floor, which would just make them madder. I would glance up at their hostile faces and feel squirmier and more uncomfortable and unable to form words, and I would quickly look away.

© 2007, 2008 by John Elder Robinson

Read sample pages from Look Me in the Eye from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

