FIRST LINES from: On Two Feet and Wings

Read first lines from On Two Feet and Wings
By Abbas Kazerooni

TEHRAN

ONE

It was typically hot in Tehran the day my life was turned upside down.

I was completing my homework in my bedroom which always stayed cool because of its very high ceiling. It was a spacious room, much too big for me, with very few things. My small bed stood in one corner, next to the radiator; I loved it there in the winters, where I could squeeze my toes in between the rails to warm them. Above my bed was a huge window, nearly upto the ceiling. It looked out on our back garden that led to an orchard, divided into sections, each with different types of trees. There were orange trees, apple trees, cherry trees and pomegranate trees; it is the orange trees I remember best because they would fruit every year without fail, the oranges hanging like bright balls on the heavy, dipping branches. On hot summer days, when the sun was too strong for me to play outside, I would jump onto my bed and gaze at the trees, their leaves shining golden in the sunlight.

First published as The Little Man by Tate Publishing USA in 2008.
Ebook published by Hachette India http://www.hachetteindia.com
(Text) Copyright © 2011 Abbas Kazerooni
Illustrations © 2011 Hachette India
ISBN: 978-93-5009-268-2
ISBN: 978-93-5009-388-7

Read selected chapters of On Two Feet and Wings on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

