Stone walls do not a prison make…

Here’s the final stanza from To Althea, from Prison by Richard Lovelace.

I’m not even giving a source because I know this bit by heart (but not so much the complete poem).

Stone Walls do not a Prison make,
   Nor Iron bars a Cage;
Minds innocent and quiet take
   That for an Hermitage.
If I have freedom in my Love,
   And in my soul am free,
Angels alone that soar above,
   Enjoy such Liberty.
 
I just love this, taking it literally, even though I don’t believe in angels…
So, do stone walls a prison make? What do you think?
 
If you want to read to whole poem and a detailed analysis about it, I found that The Guardian had covered it as their Poem of the Week back in September 2013.
 
 
Leave a Reply

